Reviews

Restaurant 54 Review

Excellent food and service .

We went there with two friends and we all agreed that the food and service was of an extremely high standard . I started with prawn dish which contained advorcado and a delicious sauce followed by fillet steak beautifully cooked with very tasty accompaniments . The restaurant was quiet ( as in not noisy) with pleasant background music ,making a very nice calm atmosphere so easy to talk to frilends .
All in all s very pleasant experience . Well done 54 !

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g635678-d1516625-r528668414-Restaurant_54-Broadstairs_Isle_of_Thanet_Kent_England.html#

Great Restaurant

We dined here on Saturday evening in half term week. The restaurant was busy but the staff were very friendly and took time to talk to diners and explain menu items when asked.
We shared a starter of scallops with crispy pork belly, bacon marmalade and pickled shallots. this was very good, the smoky marmalade really set off the scallops well.
We then had separate mains- a pan fried lamb and a pork fillet in chorizo sauce. Both dishes were well balanced and flavoursome; not many veg, but then it is More a fine dining than hearty meal establishment so that was expected. We ended up sharing the dessert platter- which was a lot even for two...something for everyone! We had a bottle of Malbec, sparkling water and 2 Sambuccas to finish off, which came to £102 without the tip.
Overall we were impressed with the restaurant, the service and the food and will definitely visit again when we're in town.
Bobtheviking, June 2017

Sunday Treat

My wife and I enjoyed yet another excellent and innovative meal. We had previously mentioned to the owners that we sometimes enjoyed salmon as a "fish" based main course. Jo and Andy came up trumps with seared salmon steaks, on a bed of lemon mashed potatoes, supported with miniature salmon fish cakes, a crispy fish skin, deep fried vegetable and a lightly spiced tomato sauce. This was followed by lemon posset desert with a twist!. The sharp lemon flavour was complemented with fresh raspberries served with a Star Anise syrup and fennel seed shortbread.
This is on the new menu and highly recommended. What makes Restaurant 54 a special place to dine, is not only the excellent food and service but the willingness of Joe and Andy to adapt main menu items to ensure that customers leave with a positive experience.
Thank you 54  Trestapop, Broadstairs  June 2017

Creative and delicious food – Happily catered for a vegetarian coeliac too!

Visited last Saturday with friends - they catered happily for a vegetarian coeliac and foodie friends.
With advance notice they prepared a gluten free, vegetarian starter (beets, goats cheese, pea shoots and caramelised cashew nuts) and main course (chickpeas, spinach and courgettes ) They have attended training to understand the needs of a coeliac - this is a small testament to the quality and care they obviously put into their food.
The meals were delicious. Friends thoroughly enjoyed the pork, chicken Kiev and lamb.
The service was friendly and attentive and the atmosphere was quite calming.  Not cheap but a definite treat. We left four clean plates with plans to return.
Seasidernut Canterbury June 2017

Awesome Food

Four meals this afternoon. All starters with main. Chicken kiev was just perfect with the slaw just is wow. All of us throughly enjoyed and will be back. Highly recommended. Staff were on point. Not to invasive but very attentive.

Pete H,  May 2017

“Special Evening”

We thought this was by far the best restaurant in Broadstairs. We had a lovely meal and a good bottle of wine. The staff are really friendly. My scallops were fantastic. We eat out a lot but this was special.

Visited July 2016

“Wheat Intolerant”

Visited with my mum - we are both wheat intolerant. When I called to make the reservation,I spoke to the chef / ? owner. He was very eager to ensure the we could have as much of the menu as possible ,offering gluten free options for the non gf items in the dishes. Also ,as I am a big fan of sauces and gravies ,he assured me that they were all gf. On arrival we were welcomed and as soon as we let the waitress know about our dietry needs ,the staff did everything they could for us ,including bringing me an extra jug of sauce.
The meal was beautiful - pork fillet with a pork hash ( prepared without flour for us ) and mash and 2 different sauces. The whole experience was great and I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited May 2016

Sunday Treat

My wife and I enjoyed yet another excellent and innovative meal. We had previously mentioned to the owners that we sometimes enjoyed salmon as a "fish" based main course. Jo and Andy came up trumps with seared salmon steaks, on a bed of lemon mashed potatoes, supported with miniature salmon fish cakes, a crispy fish skin, deep fried vegetable and a lightly spiced tomato sauce.

This was followed by lemon posset desert with a twist!. The sharp lemon flavour was complemented with fresh raspberries served with a Star Anise syrup and fennel seed shortbread.

This is on the new menu and highly recommended. What makes Restaurant 54 a special place to dine, is not only the excellent food and service but the willingness of Joe and Andy to adapt main menu items to ensure that customers leave with a positive experience.
Thank you 54
TRESTAPOP
Broadstairs

Christmas Day Lunch

5 adults, 4 children, mixed appetites. Food got rave reviews from diners, except one little one, who has a sparrow's stomach. Starter light, my main was fish - exquisite,
Dessert taster, lovely. Highly recommended .

Jennifer - Broadstairs December 2015

“Top Quality Meal”

The food was perfectly cooked and elegantly presented despite the main dishes being quite complex in terms of having a number of components. The wine list is somewhat overpriced but at least you see what you are getting, so no nasty surprises. Overall, well worth the money.

“WoW”

Had smoked pigeon with chard to start and my wife had scallops and then we both had fillet which just melted in your mouth couldnt choose a dessert they all sounded great so we had the taster everything was just perfect and the service was so pleasant will return

  • Visited October 2014

     



“Probably the best meal we have had in ages.”

What a find, and this restaurant is open on a Monday. We went to broadstairs in Kent for a long weekend knowing a little bit of the area and some of its restaurants, but having been let down by the local Italian restaurant a previous night, (Osteria Posillipo) and fancying something different we chanced on Restaurant 54. Superb Restaurant, Superb food, good value wine list, a very good menu (considering we are non meat eaters) there was choice for everyone and helpfull staff. Very pleased and would contemplate travelling the 120 miles just to go to the restaurant again. Thank you.

  • Visited September 2014 


“Wonderful food and service”

We spent 5 days in Broadstairs and there is a good choice of restaurants there.
Normally we try new ones each day, but we enjoyed the meal so much the first time that we returned for a second evening.